Australian Barbecue Championship Series 2022

The Australasian Barbecue Alliance Board has recently endorsed a range of new elements to compliment the Australian Barbecue Championship Series in 2022. Some of the exciting additions will include:

  • State Champions Awards (NEW)
  • Brisket Champions Awards (NEW)
  • Pork Ribs Champions Awards (NEW)
  • Dirty Bird (Chicken) Champions Awards (NEW)
  • Lamb Champions Awards (NEW)
  • National Points Champion (Remains)
  • Reciprocal Leaderboard Points awarded for Australia and/or New Zealand contest participation. (Remains)
  • Adjusted Overall Prize Money and Trophies to cater for all new Champions & Points Chase categories. (NEW)
  • ABA Invitational (Returning in 2022)
  • ABA Survey including ABA Awards Nominations (Returning in 2022)
  • ABA Team Representatives Committee (NEW)
  • ABA Rules Updated (December 2021)

Please join us in welcoming the incoming ABA Team Representatives for Australia: Grant Coleman, Nic Cooper, Dean Bradley, Neil Dransfield, Trevor Dawson, Daniel Barrett, and Jye Healey.

The new Committee will assist the ABA Contest Coordinator with operational items concerning the National Championship Contest Series. The Committee can be contacted with any suggestions, feedback or support via

The ABA will make further announcements and clarifications on the items noted above in the coming months.

Check out for information on Upcoming Events, Barbeques Galore Leaderboard, Recipe Videos and more or join our Facebook Group at




13julAll Day14Beats, Brews and BBQs

27julAll DayABA Invitational Championship

28julAll DayThe Full Throttle World BBQ Championship


17aug(aug 17)12:00 am18(aug 18)12:00 amSunPork Smoke Off at Kingaroy BaconFest

23aug(aug 23)12:45 am24(aug 24)12:45 amLow N Slow Smoke Off (Gerogery)


14sepAll Day15Kangaroo Valley

27sep(sep 27)8:26 am28(sep 28)8:26 amTamworth Barbecue Festival


05octAll Day06One Mile Brewery BBQ Festival (TBC)

12oct(oct 12)6:19 am13(oct 13)6:19 amSmokin the Downs

25octAll Day27BBQ @ The Bend


02novAll Day03Smoke on the Water – Wodonga

09novAll Day10Claystone Cookoff – TBC